Coated Canvas v. Leather

*Dior Homme coated canvas tote

When I first started to really like buying bags a couple years back, I was obsessed with coated canvas. A Dior Homme coated canvas bag from one of Hedi Slimane’s final accessories collections for the house was actually my very first foray into coated canvas and I loved the black on black logo (*Note, the photo above isn’t the actual bag I have, I couldn’t find a picture, but it looks very similar to this.) Over the years I ended up getting Goyard and a few Louis Vuitton SLG’s and I was intending on getting a Fendi coated canvas tote as well.

*Fendi coated canvas tote

I never ended up getting the Fendi tote because that was the year eLuxury ceased its online operations. I tried searching for the bag everywhere at Fendi boutiques, department stores, and online to no avail so I gave up.

What appealed to me so much about canvas bags was that they were perfect for everyday because they really durable, easy to clean, and fairly reasonably priced. I loved that they kept their shape over the years and were pretty resilient to scratches.

In recent times, I’ve been more interested in acquiring leather goods, but that’s not to say I don’t plan on getting any other coated canvas bags, I still have a few I like but I love the feel of quality leather in my hands. It smells so good too! First I started with a simple Marc by Marc Jacobs tote that was a runway accesory and more recently, a Proenza Schouler PS1.

*Proenza Schouler Large PS1, Givenchy Nightingale Biker bag, Balenciaga Work bag

I try and make my “bag goals” as reasonable as possible. I mostly try and get 1-2 quality bags a year. Sometimes I try and stretch it to a span of two years.  Would I love to buy as any bags as I want every year? Absolutely! Am I able to do so easily? Unfortunately, not! Haha, so I try and really make sure the things I want aren’t just “for now” and that they actually will be things I use for a while, if not forever.

My next two bags I want to try getting either later this year or get this coming year are a Balenciaga Work bag and a Givenchy Nightingale Biker bag. I have my messenger-style bag (the Proenza Schouler PS1) and now I want both a North-South tote, and an East-West satchel. I think my choices would make perfect additions to my wardrobe and I can’t wait to get them! Yes, I know I want/have all black bags and that may seem boring but I rarely wear color and it’s my favorite color. And so, the saving begins~

I’ll keep you guys updated…

-Onell

Images courtesy of Dior Homme, Fendi, Proenza Schouler, Givenchy and Balenciaga.

This entry was posted in Accessories, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

